Chronicling

Virtual Button Shows in March 2021

National Button Week is in March – and now, it seems, everyone is responding to make it a month-long celebration! The New Jersey State Button Society continues its study of shell, under the tutelage of Annie Frazier, with a program by another NJSBS member, Jade Papa, who presents The Muscatine Button Queen on Sunday, March 21 at 3 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. The link to register will be available at NewJerseyStateButton Society.com and on the state’s Facebook page.

See Joan Lindsey’s excavation into the fascinating topic, Egyptian Buttons on Sunday, March 7 at 1 p.m. Pacific Time (4 p.m. EST) , presented by the Historical Button Club of Northern Idaho. Contact this group at historicalbuttonclub@gmail.com to register.

Simone Kincaid has assembled an intriguing look at Art in Miniature, appealing for both collectors and the general public.  It will be shown on Tuesday, March 9 at 10 a.m. Mountain Time (noon, EST) for the Colorado Button Connection and again on Saturday, March 13 at 1 p.m. Pacific Time (4 p.m. EST) for Simone’s own club, the Historical Button Club of Northern Idaho (historicalbuttonclub@gmail.com to register).

Vegetable Ivory Buttons is the topic for Wednesday, March 10 at 2 pm Pacific Time (5 pm EST) for the Historical Button Club of Northern Idaho.

 Also good for the general public is Joan Lindsay’s The History of Fashion Through Buttons, on Saturday, March 20 at 1 p.m. Pacific Time (4 p.m. EST) for the Colorado Button Connection. Contact this group at historicalbuttonclub@gmail.com to register.

After Jade Papa’s program on March 21 at 3 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. March as ‘button month’ concludes with a program on Button Crafts, offered by the Colorado Button Connction on Wednesday, March 24 at 10 a.m. Mountain Time.  If you need links to the Colorado Button Connection programs, email brittmh@aol.com. To register for the Idaho programs, email historicalbuttonclub@gmail.com. Additional programs are available by joining state societies in Colorado, Texas, and Minnesota. Email buttonsinnewjersey@gmail.com if you have questions!